Best Pizza in Charlotte?

Sorry for the long hiatus.  Life has gotten a bit crazy with long hours at school, meetings in the evening, running, and more.  I promise though, I have still been eating tons of good food all around Charlotte and have lots to share, starting with a food I simply could not live without…

As you may have noticed by now, I am a bit of a pizza junkie.  I could eat pizza every night of the week and never get sick of it.  There’s just so many things you can do with it and so many different styles.  From New York, to traditional Neapolitan, to creative twists like this red sauce with pesto drizzle from The Pizza Peel, the variety is endless.Ever since I moved to Charlotte I have been on a quest to find the best pizza in the city.  My favorite pizza of all time comes from Pizzeria Orso in Fairfax, Virginia, which features a handmade volcanic brick oven spitting out the most incredible pizza I’ve ever eaten.  If you’re ever in the DC area you have to try this hidden gem.  Since moving to Charlotte I have been looking for something to satisfy my cravings for Pizzeria Orso’s specialty pies and have tried it all.  I have found some pretty delicious pizzas in the city.  I absolutely love Villa Francesca’s Grandma Pizza: square, 16 x 16 thin, crispy crust with mozzarella cheese and dollops of their special “Grandma sauce” for its simplicity.  Revolution’s NoDa pulls me in for their creativity (and beer) with its red sauce, grateful grower’s pulled pork, peppadew peppers, caramelized onions, and balsamic reduction.  I love Aria’s gourmet, thin crust wild mushroom pizza and can always eat a Naples specialty from neighborhood favorite Zio,

but…I was truly in pizza heaven when I discovered Portofino’s Italian pies at their flagship location in east Charlotte.  

  This is the kind of pizza I’ve been missing.  A chewy, thin crust, authentic Italian toppings like buffalo mozzarella and delectable, salty prosciutto make this pizza a favorite.  The crust is perfectly cooked, the sauce is flavorful but not overpowering, and the toppings are high quality ingredients.  Portofino’s is owned and operated by childhood friends from Naples, Italy and their authenticity shines is undeniable.  The Eastway location is very basic, no frills, and welcomes all walks of life.  Located in a strip mall where an old Walmart used to be, it doesn’t scream urban sophistication, but it does scream authenticity.  Don’t be tempted to judge this restaurant by its curb appeal, look past its strip mall residency and venture inside for some delicious pizza in an informal setting.  It’s perfect for a casual dinner or just to pick up pizza for take-out.  Portofino’s has three other locations in the Charlotte area: Park Road, Ayrsley, and Moorseville that you could also check out.  I’ve found my new spot to satisfy my pizza cravings in Charlotte and I highly suggest you try it out for yourself.

Portofino's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria on Urbanspoon

I am also very excited to try Wolfgang Puck’s new pizzeria opening sometime time in April in Phillips Place (southpark).  Completely different style than Portofino’s but I’m excited to try it! Read about it on Restaurant Traffic here.

About emily eats

Kitchen conquerer, restaurant explorer, craft beer drinker, red wine lover, marathon runner
This entry was posted in Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

