Intermezzo Pizzeria: Neighborhood Hangout

When I moved to the Plaza Midwood/Elizabeth area in Charlotte, NC I knew I wanted to make sure I supported my neighborhood restaurants and businesses.  I didn’t want to just live here, but I wanted be part of the community.  And to me, that means, food community.

Intermezzo Pizzeria has been on my radar for awhile now and after the Groupon/Living Social (I can’t keep the two straight anymore) deal I was anxious to try it.  After a short walk in the beautifully changing cooler nights we chose a table on the outside patio and immediately checked out the wine list.  Being a school night, my roommate and I checked out the glasses instead of a bottle and we each ordered a glass of Italian Masciarelli Montepulciano D’Abruzzo (Side note:  Trader Joe’s has a good cheap Montepulciano for $5.99 by Villa Cerrina that’s been my go-to cheap Italian red for awhile thanks to my Dad).

The waiter brought out our glasses and informed us that they had to finish the bottle to pour ours so he would bring us another glass on the house.  A very nice gesture, considering our glasses were full from the previous pour, but I am never one to down a free glass of wine.

We had $30 dollars to spend on food so we started off with the Portobella Mushroom Tower. Grilled portabella mushrooms, grilled roasted red peppers, and goat cheese stacked neatly upright.

It was charred, meaty, and flavorful; for $8.95 it could have been slightly bigger.  But I’m not complaining!  Certainly enough for two!

Next, we had the Shopska Salad with tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, onions, and grated feta cheese.  Right up my ally.

And the Grilled Veggie Pizza.  Squash, zucchini, roasted red pepper, tomatoes, and onions with mozzarella and goat cheese.

And sauce.  

The way pizza sauce should be.  Great fresh tomato flavor, like a New York style pizza, but without overwhelming the rest of the ingredients.  One of the best pizza sauces I’ve had in Charlotte hands down.

After finishing our second glass of wine on a school night, we headed happily home with a new neighborhood find.

Intermezzo also serves up traditional ethnic Serbian dishes and we know we’ll be back to check out the part of the menu after a great first experience. 


Intermezzo Pizzeria and Cafe on Urbanspoon

About emily eats

Kitchen conquerer, restaurant explorer, craft beer drinker, red wine lover, marathon runner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

